The Classic TV Site

The Brady Bunch – The Complete First Season

[wpramazon asin="B0006Z2L4W"]

posted by in Comedies and have Comments (3)

3 Responses to “The Brady Bunch – The Complete First Season”

  1. JGC says:
    198 of 209 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A classic sitcom, February 15, 2005
    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)

    This review is from: The Brady Bunch – The Complete First Season (DVD)

    I grew up watching the Brady Bunch in repeats (every day @ 4:35 on TBS), now I watch it on TV Land. This is the best example of classic TV. Below is a description of every episode from season one that are on this DVD:

    The Honeymoon (original air date: Sept. 26, 1969)
    Description: In the series pilot, Mike Brady, a widower with three boys, marries Carol Martin, a single mother (it was never fully stated if Carol was a widow or a divorcee) with three girls. Mike and Carol decide to bring their 6 kids, Alice their maid with the can-do attitude, tiger the dog, fluffy the cat (who is never seen after the pilot), and Cindy’s rag doll along on their honeymoon.

    Dear Libby (original air date: Oct. 3, 1969)
    Description: Advice columnist Dear Libby, draws Marcia’s attention with a letter from someone of similar circumstances as her parents. This leads Marcia to draw the conclusion that Mike or Carol wrote the letter. Hurt feelings and misunderstanding encompass the entire family — including Alice – that is until Dear Libby drops everything and makes a personal appearance to the entire bunch; just to clear everything up!

    Eenie, Meenie, Mommy, Daddy (original air date: Oct. 10, 1969)
    Description: Cindy has been cast as the fairy princess in the school play. She’s excited that her mom and new dad will be able to see her in the production until she learns she can only invite one parent. If it were my kid, I would have pulled them from the play Mike decides to put Cindy’s mind at ease. A private play is done just for the Brady family and Alice.

    Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore (original air date: Oct. 17, 1969)
    Description: No longer feeling needed around the Brady household, Alice makes up a cockamamie story about an ailing aunt in Seattle in order to leave. Later the family finds out the truth and put “Operation Alice” in effect in an attempt to make her stay; which works!

    Katchoo (original air date: Oct. 24, 1969)
    Description: Jan comes down with a mysterious allergy and Carol and Alice try to determine just what is causing it. They deduce that the cause is Tiger, the family dog. This leads to the boys having to deal with getting a rid of their pet. Come to find out that Jan is really allergic to Tiger’s new flea powder!

    A Clubhouse Is Not a Home (original air date: Oct. 31, 1969)
    Description: This episode should have been the first after the pilot because it shows everyone moving in together and often in syndication it is either dropped or it is put after the pilot. The family moves in together and the boys don’t want to share their club house with their new sisters.

    Kitty Karry-All is Missing (original air date: Nov. 7, 1969)
    Description: When Cindy’s doll, Kitty Karry-All turns up missing, she accuses Bobby. This leads to a mock trial with Alice as the judge to determine Bobby’s guilt or innocence. Then later Bobby’s kazoo turns up missing and he blames Cindy. At long last the real culprit is revealed to be Tiger.

    A-Camping We Will Go (original air date: Nov. 14, 1969)
    Description: This is one of my favorite episodes from the entire series. The entire family goes on a camping trip together. The boys don’t want the girls there and the girls don’t want to go but in the end they all wind up enjoying themselves.

    Sorry, Right Number (original air date: Nov. 21, 1969)
    Description: Fed up with the high telephone bill, Mike installs a pay phone in the family room. Has anyone ever heard of someone having a pay phone in their home? I didn’t think so. This is a classic Brady Bunch episode.

    Every Boy Does It Once (original air date: Dec. 5, 1969)
    Description: After watching “Cinderella” on TV, Bobby becomes concerned about stepmother’s especially since Carol asks him to sweep out the fireplace. Soon after, feeling worthless, Bobby decides to runaway. Mike a Carol foolishly decide to “buy” Bobby’s love but then feel that they make a mistake and Carol comes up with a great way to show her true affection for her new son.

    Vote for Brady (original air date: Dec. 12, 1969)
    Description: Marcia & Greg are both running for student body president. It’s a cutthroat campaign until Marcia decides to drop out after hearing Greg scold Rusty for making up malicious rumor’s about her.

    The Voice of Christmas (original air date: Dec. 19, 1969)
    Description: Yes, Florence Henderson can sing and this episode proves it. Carol loses her voice and rather than pray (that’s not done on TV), Cindy asks Santa to lend a helping hand. Sure enough on Christmas morning Carol has her voice back in time to sing “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” for the entire congregation. By the way, this is anther episode that is rarely seen unless it’s during Nick at Nite’s or TV Land’s Christmas specials.

    Is There a Doctor in the House…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes

  2. ecurb says:
    17 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Bradys finally on dvd, March 25, 2005
    ecurb (CA) –
    This review is from: The Brady Bunch – The Complete First Season (DVD)

    I cant beleive I have been watching The Brady Bunch since 1969.
    This dvd is the best that Paramount has put out. The color is crystal sharp that you can see the folds in the fake lawn, the sound is awsome to. Plus they are all uncut, which you will never find on cable at all. The commentarys with the Brady kids are great! I only wish they did more commentarys,but thats ok.
    I cant wait for season 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes

  3. Greg M. Davis "ClassicTVFan" says:
    12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Here’s a story……., April 10, 2005
    Greg M. Davis “ClassicTVFan” (New Jersey, USA) –
    This review is from: The Brady Bunch – The Complete First Season (DVD)

    Who has never heard of the BRADY BUNCH?! The Brady Bunch ran from 1969 to 1974. From the beginning the show was a hit to audiences and became a classic altogether. When I got my copy of the first season I was amazed of the effort they put into it. Usually, Paramount has plain, ordinary DVD sets. Not this time though, they added a lendicular cover and a few extras. This set is also a space saver too. Instead of making 4 cases for the 4 discs, they put two discs in each case cutting the size of the set in half. The picture to me was very clear and crisp, with the occasional flicker of dust and debris. The sound was pretty good too, considering that all shows back then were in mono. All in all, this set is a great selection for all you Brady fans out there!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes

Place your comment

Please fill your data and comment below.
Your comment
Get Adobe Flash playerPlugin by wordpress themes